Explore Dún na Séad Castle in Baltimore, built in 1215 by Anglo-Norman Sleynie and home to the O’Driscoll clan for 300 years. The castle, a center for trading and piracy, narrowly escaped a pirate attack in 1631 but became a Cromwellian garrison in 1649 before falling into ruin. Restored to its former glory in 1997, the castle now features the Great Hall with historical furnishings and tapestries, a pirate exhibition detailing “The Sack of Baltimore,” and archaeological displays. Walk the battlements for stunning views of Baltimore Harbour and the surrounding islands. Open to visitors year-round in 2024.